WampServer 2.1 (month 1)

Ok. I have been using WAMPServer 2.1 for about a month now. For those that are not aware WAMP stands for Windows Apache/MySQL/Php

How  did I come about choosing an all-in-one setup when compared to individual installations?
Although, yes, it is a safer, easier route to take, I initially did not follow that route (I didn’t even know that it existed). After using many dozens of tutorials (albeit fruitlessly) in an attempt to install php as a service under IIS v5.1. I decided that I was better off installing Apache first. This however also ended in heartache as well, when at first launching Apache popped up an error message. What was worst was that after about two weeks of searching for a solution, there seemed to be no viable solution for my issue. On my final hunt, someone recommeded WampServer. After doing research into system specifications, reviews (user and otherwise), known issues etc, I decided to give it a try.
Why did I choose WampServer?
Besides being an all in one  solution (therefore I wouldn’t have to deal with compatibility issues between componentsmeeting the requirments, I was impressed with their support system and the high level of resolves I saw. I could also run it along side my existing IIS Server  as a normal application that I can start and exit. I was able to locate through their official forums, a step by step for beginners for it’s installation. Further more, I am now able to properly learn a more robust programming language and gain more exposure to MySQL. My security software and tools like it and I have no problem with it so far. It has made a harmonious transition to the culture of my particular system. I also wanted to gain a fuller understanding of WordPress.

What have I done with it so far?
So far I have successfully installed WordPress 3.1 and upgraded to 3.1.1 and Joomla 1.5x stable version.I’ve been able to change themes and create posts in WordPress. Since I have just installed Joomla, I’m still in the evaluation processes of it. From my exposure so far, my personal opinion, it’s better for the sharing of information.

Closing remarks: I’d like to thank the community at WampServer forums and JLBN for all their continued support. If anyone is interested in WampServer check out the english version here: WampServer English
or maybe you may like to check out JLBN here: JLBN Guides

Please remember to download the software from the official sites and always have proper security measures in place as software does not provide these. 

Cheers

Leave a Reply

