Web browsers

Since my very first blog entry back in 2009-2010, I had intended to write a review on web browsers. So here it is.

I’ll start off with IE
Internet Explorer Icon
Internet Explorer besides being a Microsoft Product was my first exposure to web browsers. I had IE6 and it give acceptable performance. My appreciation of that version grew with my expanding knowledge of computer and the Internet.I lauded it as a success, when initially, it was the only browser which correctly displayed my website for one of my final year projects.  Since then I have upgraded to IE 8 (a tabbed browser) and after adjusting options to suit, it worked well.  I now use it side by side with my current browser. It makes an excellent testing environment seeing that most software try to make their products Microsoft Compliant and accessible to as much people as possible.  Some websites are also non-accessible unless you use IE.

Firefox (FFor ff)
firefox image
I first was introduced to firefox version 3.5  some years ago. It was a nice upgrade from my then IE 6. Tabbed Browsers so there was no longer a need for me to open multiple windows;an option to save all my open pages and it also afforded me the opportunity to import my existing history,cookies etc from my previous browser.  What I found most uplifting with Firefox is that I now had the ability to pause and resume multiple downloads without having the task bar filled up with pages or the group window showing that I had 6 pages up.  This was a dream come true.
As for security, there were more, better security practices involved plus it interfaced well with my anti-virus which would scan downloads before they were placed in the system.

As with all programs, there are teething problems. I remember when version 3.6 first updated, it conflicted with msn, my antivirus (disabling certain add-ons) and some other websites.  I downgraded to version 3.5 and by the time I upgraded to 3.6 for the second time, the problem was fixed.

Opera

opera web browser image
The review on this one is going to be quite short seeing that I only had a brief experience with it.  It was in general a pretty good software which give decent performance  on my then current system (Windows XP, 512 MB RAM, 80GB HD space) . However there were some sites which could not be accessed with Opera.

Google Chrome

Another shorty for the history books. I remember installing this software on my system and on one running Vista. The first thing that I noticed straight off was a slow down with the system. Although it looked quite pretty, I found the performance sucked a little. Besides not being able to visit certain websites, it did not provide a good testing environment for a web 2.0 Website that I was working on. There was also conflicts with certain add-ons and off course it was sucking up a massive amount of memory.

These conclude my review on web browsers. I may or may not add to this list but if you know of one that you would like me to check out feel free to contact me.

Cheers,
DAC

Images courtesy Icon Archive submitter benjigarner.

2 thoughts on “Web browsers

  1. Hey google chrome by far is the fastest browser and this is a fact, windows vista is a bad idea to test anything on as it gets upset for no reason, windows XP or windows 7 are he best beds you should of used.

    Anyone who is anyone that known’s anything about computers should always tell you to STAY away from IE no matter what it had so many holes and still dose in version 9 I would say you OS was the downfall.

    Please redo you tests on windows xp and windows 7 I done these tests and by far Chrome is the fastest, FF 3.6 was the best for tabbing and bookmarking and IE 9 dose have a nice html 5 engine but it stil buggy as hell, I hope to see your work in future reviews but also there are many many more browers give them a look up you have only just started your path of browsers, good luck I will be following you 🙂

    Laters

    1. Hi DJ,

      Thank you very much for your comment and suggestions is greatly appreciated. My intentions are to check out further browsers as well, as time allows.

      As for Google Chrome, my experience is what it is. I’ve also spoken to friends, family and colleagues who had installed google chrome within the last year on different OS (XP,Vista, Win 7) and they all had my experience and all complained. I’m not trying to disprove your comment as that has been your experience. Therefore I really do not know what to make of this except to wonder if it’s a geographic thing. All the people I spoke to live in the same geographical area.

      I think I will run a web-based poll to get people’s opinion on Google Chrome.

      Concerning IE I am fully aware of the security risks involved. However the fact remains that there are some established sites that you cannot interact with if you don’t use IE. My regular browser if Firefox. However,depending on where I need, its absolutely necessary to use IE. Hence why I mentioned using FF and IE alongside each other.
      As you will see when your re-read the post. I recommeded it as a testing environment which is usually done offline.
      As for the rest, please read my disclaimer.

      Cheers

Leave a Reply

